Texas Ends 2016 by Graduating 41 New CPMs

December 28, 2016 8:59 AM | Sue Breland

Texas State University’s William P. Hobby Center for Public Service graduated forty-one new Texas Certified Public Managers® at the State Capitol on Monday December 12, 2016. The CPM graduates and their families came from CPM Programs at the following locations: Amarillo, Arlington, Houston, Nacogdoches, Round Rock and San Marcos Texas. The graduates participated in CPM Programs offered by the following universities, Texas State, Stephen F. Austin, Sam Houston State, Texas Tech University, and the University of Houston.

The Graduation Speaker, Dr. Ken Matwiczak, is a regular and popular instructor in Central Texas CPM program, as well as, a recently retired Senior Lecturer at the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Matwiczak brought an address to graduates encouraging them to remember what CPM means, now that these letters may be added to their signature block. “C- Certified” means they are confirmed, designated and qualified. “P- Public” for serving the public good, making life better for others. “M- Manager” means skilled in the direction of others, not just managing things, but leading people. His address included advice to: 1) create and share a vision, 2) consider others before self, 3) trust and respect subordinates, 4) make the hard choices and learn from mistakes and to 5) set high ethical standards/expectations and live up to them yourself. To learn more about Dr. Matwiczak and watch the graduation speech online, go to the Texas CPM Website.

The December 2016 Graduates are listed below by University and CPM Program Location

Texas State University Arlington:
Susan Dural Cluse, Neil Howard, Jeffrey J. James, William L. Linn, Amanda Campos McCrory

Texas State University Round Rock:
Steve Adcock, Justin Crook, Leah Ann Folgate, Diane P. Garcia, Ryan Devin Haverlah, Rachel Reyna, Sibelis Rodriguez, Dexter Lamott Smith, Liza Trevino

Texas State University San Marcos:
Celia M. DeLeon, Les Stephens

Sam Houston State University, Houston:
Betty D. Davis, Latarsha Living, Jerry Don Morgan, Elroyal Morris Jr., David Murillo, Renata Collins Spann

Stephen F. Austin State University:
Brant Lee

Texas Tech University:
Daniel Anthony Anderson, Josè Alfonso Cavazos, Steve Eggleston, Brent Harrison, Nathaniel Shane Jones, Scott A. McDonald, Dustin R. Meyer, Amy M. Northam, Joseph Holt Price, Brent A. Walker, Johnnie Williams, Glynn Wade Willson

University of Houston:
Kenith Adcox, Kellie Ann Buchanan, Paula Favors, Terry David Lynch, Ronald Kent Parker, Kevin Rooney

Congratulations to all December 2016 Certified Public Manager® graduates!

For more information, contact Dr. Howard R. Balanoff, the William P. Hobby Professor of Public Service at Texas State University. He is also the Director of the Texas Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program and can be reached at hb02@txstate.edu or 512/245-345. Additional information about the William P. Hobby Center for Public Service and the Texas Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program can be found at www.txstate.edu/cpm

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software