2015 National CPM Consortium Annual Meeting

September 30, 2015 3:21 PM | Anonymous

2015 National CPM Consortium Annual Meeting

National Certified Public ManagerĀ® Consortium Accredits six programs, grants Associate status to two new programs and elects new officers

The 2015 Annual Meeting of the National Certified Public ManagerĀ® Consortium was held on October 29-30, 2015 In Phoenix, Arizona

Forty-five (45) Board members and 2 guests representing 39 of the 39 CPM programs attended the 2015 Annual Meeting.


Significant actions taken by the membership include approving the Continued Accreditation of 6 Certified Public ManagerĀ®(CPM)  programs; granting Associate Member status to two new programs and electing new leadership for the coming year.

Continued Accreditation for five years was granted to the following programs (year of initial accreditation):

Colorado, Buechner Institute for Governance, University of Colorado-Denver (2010)
Florida, Florida Center for Public Management, Florida State University (1980)
Nevada, Nevada State Department of Personnel (2005)
New Jersey, New Jersey Civil Service Commission, Division of Administration and Training (1984)
Texas, William P. Hobby Center for Public Service, Texas State University (1996)
Wyoming, Workforce & Community Development, Laramie County Community College (2010)

 Associate Status was granted to two new CPM programs:

Georgia: Carl Vinson Institute of Government, University of Georgia
The Netherlands: Leiden University (the first program outside the U.S. and its territories to request this status)

Associate status is the first step to full accreditation. Associate members receive a mentor to assist them with planning a program. The next step is Active status which allows them to begin to implement the program. Accredited status means that the program has been reviewed and approved to provide the program for 5 years.

The membership also elected new officers to lead the organization for the next year:

NCPMC Executive Council 20015-2016
Chair:                Mary De Lorenzo, The New Mexico EDGE, Mexico State University
Vice Chair:        Charles Taylor, Bowen Center for Public Affairs, Ball State University
Secretary:         Cheryl Robertson, Workforce Development Administration, District of Columbia
Treasurer:          Ann Cotten, Schaefer Center for Public Policy, University of Baltimore
Past Chair:        Mary Hamilton, School of Public Administration, University of Nebraska Omaha
At-large:            Janet Ernst, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, Washington, D.C.
At-large:            Jolie Busby, Arkansas Public Administration Consortium, University of Arkansas Little Rock
At-large:            Shondra Houseworth, Mississippi State Personnel Board
At-large:            Hector Zelaya, Bob Ramsey Executive Education, Arizona State University
At-large:            Kathleen Beaumont, KeyBank Professional Development Center, University of Washington Tacoma
At-large:            Stephanie Duncan, SC State Budget and Control Board's Division of Human Resources

Finally, it was decided to hold the 2016 Mid-Year Meeting in Oklahoma City, OK in April, 2016.

Click here for more photos from the event.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software