KU announces Kansas Certified Public Manager Program graduates for 2018

December 18, 2018 12:25 PM | Patty Morgan (Administrator)

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas Public Management Center has announced this year’s graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager program, who represent the 25th anniversary class. The graduation ceremony took place last month in the House Chamber at the Capitol in Topeka. Erik Sartorius, executive director of the League of Kansas Municipalities, made remarks to the graduates.

The 85 graduates, who began their coursework in January, represent local, county, state or federal agencies from across Kansas. They participated in classes held in Topeka, Olathe and the KU Edwards Campus.

Of these participants, 21 are graduates of the Law Enforcement Leadership Academy (LELA) Command School who completed their CPM certification through classroom instruction and online work. While they were recognized earlier in November at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center in Yoder, they were also included in the graduation ceremony in Topeka.

“The Kansas CPM program is a dynamic and engaging certification program of 300 contact hours that uses a capstone project as the final exam and course materials that inspire new ways of thinking and innovative approaches to solving problems,” said Terri Callahan, program manager. “This year was particularly special, as we also celebrated the 25th anniversary of the program.”

“I am very impressed with the caliber and dedication of the CPM graduates. Their love for public service and leadership is evident by their commitment and dedication to their organizations, communities and the citizens they serve.” 

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Close to 1,800 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program.

The CPM program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2019, CPM will be offered in three locations: Topeka, Kansas City and Southwest Kansas. The Southwest Kansas cohort will rotate among Liberal, Dodge City and Garden City throughout the year. For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website (www.kupmc.org) or contact Terri Callahan at tcallahan@ku.edu or (785) 864-6864.

The list of graduates is below:

Atchison County

  • Seth Howard, Atchison County Road and Bridge

Bourbon County

  • Chad Brown, City of Fort Scott
  • Larry Gazaway, City of Fort Scott

Butler County

  • Chris Bumgarner, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
  • Cody Sims, City of Augusta Community Development

Douglas County

  • Thomas Fagan, Lawrence - Douglas County Fire Medical Department
  • Myrone Grady, Lawrence Police Department
  • Andrea McGranahan, University of Kansas/CAO SSC
  • Robert Murry, Lawrence Police Department
  • Tony Nubile, University of Kansas

Finney County

  • Jared Kuhlmann, City of Garden City Municipal Court

Ford County

  • Orlando Villasenor, Dodge City Police Department

Franklin County

  • Amy Finch, City of Ottawa, Finance Department
  • Jeffrey Oleson, City of Ottawa Utility Department
  • Jeff Richards, Franklin County Sheriff's Office

Harvey County

  • Ethan Reimer, City of Halstead - Administration

Johnson County

  • Jimmy Althouse, City of Olathe
  • James Baker, Shawnee Police Department
  • Lauren Baxter, KU Edwards Campus
  • Chet Belcher, City of Olathe
  • Brent Berry, City of Olathe
  • Jeff Boss, Johnson County Med Act
  • Mike Brungardt, City of De Soto, Kansas
  • Lori Colwell, Kansas School for the Deaf
  • Jordan Couturier, Leawood Police
  • Kyle Dieckmann, City of Overland Park Public Works
  • Michele Golden, Kansas School for the Deaf
  • Joey Heideman, City of Olathe Fire Department
  • Mary Hughes, Kansas School for the Deaf
  • Ian Ingram, Kansas Highway Patrol/Troop A
  • Benito Mendoza, Shawnee Police Department
  • Felix Mercader, University of Kansas Information Technology
  • Kevin Messick, City of Shawnee Planning Department
  • Cynthia Moeller-Krass, City of Shawnee/Development Services Department
  • Anthony Morris, City of Olathe Public Works
  • Michael Morse, Consolidated Fire District 2, Olathe
  • Joe Oborny, Kansas School for the Deaf
  • Sabrina Parker, City of Olathe
  • Sean Pendley, City of Olathe
  • Matthew Perll, City of Shawnee Development Services
  • Sonya Ramsey, Kansas School for the Deaf
  • Joshua Register, Consolidated Fire District 2, Olathe
  • Bart Rehagen, City of Olathe
  • Brian Scott, City of Mission
  • Marisa Shartzer, City of Olathe-Parks & Recreation
  • Ira Speer, City of Olathe
  • Tyler Wirth, City of Shawnee - Planning

Linn County

  • Erica Kern, City of Pleasanton

Montgomery County

  • Brooke Carroll, City of Cherryvale

Pottawatomie County

  • Lisa Kenworthy, Pottawatomie County Health Department

Reno County

  • Thad Pickard, Hutchinson Police
  • Steven Lutz, Reno County Sheriff Department

Riley County

  • Joshua Kyle, Riley County Police Department
  • Greg Steere, Riley County Police Department

Saline County

  • Trent Davis, City of Salina, City Commission

Sedgwick County

  • Lance Beagley, Goddard Police Department
  • Tracy Cleary, KDHE - EMS for Children
  • Michael Gordon, City of Valley Center Police Department
  • Lloyd Newman, Valley Center Police Department
  • Ryan Shrack, City of Valley Center, Kansas

Shawnee County

  • Justin Bramlett, Kansas Highway Patrol
  • Nathan Brown, KDEM
  • RaeAnn Byrd, Kansas State Board of Nursing
  • Jamey Haltom, Topeka Police Department
  • Jason Heitman, Kansas Department of Health and Environment
  • Ernesto Longoria, City of Shawnee
  • Harold Louderback, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
  • Jill McCarthy, State Treasurer’s Office
  • Lorna McPhail, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
  • Jerry Monasmith, Topeka Police Department
  • Carol Moreland, Kansas Board of Nursing
  • Lisa Parrish, Kansas Bureau of Investigation ISD
  • Craig Phillips, Kansas Highway Patrol
  • Jayson Prentice, KDHE, Bureau of Air
  • Liz Rodriguez, City of Topeka/ Water
  • Pete Vobach, City of Topeka
  • Shauna Wake, Office of the Kansas State Treasurer's Office

Wyandotte County

  • Andrew Carver, Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office
  • Christian Cooley, Unified Government GeoSpatial Services
  • Amber McCullough, City of Bonner Springs City Clerk's Office
  • Sean Pederson, City of Bonner Springs
  • Jeffrey Short, Edwardsville, Kansas Police Department
  • Adela Tan, Kansas School for the Blind


Platte County

Stephen Lachky, City of Parkville Community Development Department.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. The university's mission is to lift students and society by educating leaders, building healthy communities and making discoveries that change the world. The KU News Service is the central public relations office for the Lawrence campus.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software